At first glance, making homemade tofu may seem complicated and time consuming. However, there are only good reasons to take the plunge. With only 300g of soybeans, you can make 400g of tofu, 0.5l of milk and get almost 1kg of okara. Okara is the pulp left over after the soy milk has been extracted. It is rich in nutrients and can be used in all kinds of recipes. It is also very economical and you will soon realise this. You can buy 500 grams of soybeans for about 4.00 € in organic shops. Once you get the hang of it, making your own tofu is easy and exciting.

The production of tofu is very similar to that of cheese. To curdle the soya milk, Nigari salt, magnesium chloride from sea water, is used. Tofu is rich in protein, iron and calcium. Enjoy your discovery and taste!

Recipe

Difficulty: Medium

Ingredients

  • 300 g yellow soybeans
  • 2.5 l water + soaking water
  • 1 tbsp Nigari salt

Material

  • 1 tofu mould
  • 2 stamens
  • 1 large saucepan
  • 1 weight

Instructions

Stage 1

Rehydrate the soybeans in a bowl by covering them with water for at least 12 hours. They will double in size and take on a more elongated shape.

Step 2

Rinse the seeds and blend them with a little water from the 2.5 l. The texture should be creamy. Be careful not to blend for too long, otherwise the okara will not be well filtered.

Step 3

Pour the mixture into a large saucepan and add the remaining water. Boil for 15 minutes, stirring and watching constantly. The mixture will foam a lot and it only takes a second of inattention for it to overflow. If necessary, remove the pan from the heat for a moment. Then continue cooking on low heat for 20 minutes.

Step 4

Once the mixture has cooled, it should be strained through a cheesecloth or chinois to extract the milk from the pulp. You should get about 1.8 litres of milk and 900 g of okara. Save the okara for other recipes.

Step 5

Return 1.2 litres of milk to the heat and remove from the heat before boiling. Mix one tablespoon of Nigari salt with a little water. Add the salt-water mixture to the milk off the heat and stir. Cover and leave to curdle for 20 minutes.

Step 6

Place the tofu mould in a shallow dish (e.g. a plate) and cover it with cheesecloth. Pour the curdled tofu into the mould with a skimmer. Close the cheesecloth and put the lid on. Put the weight on and leave to drain for 2 hours or more to obtain a firm tofu.

Once unmoulded, the tofu can be stored in a glass container with water in the refrigerator. Change the water every day. It will keep for 4 days.

Notes :

  • Okara can be frozen for later use
  • To obtain a silky tofu, do not put any weight on the lid.
  • If you use commercial milk, you can obtain about 300g of tofu with 1l of milk.
0
0
Cart
Your basket is emptyBack to the shop
Calculate delivery costs
Apply the coupon

Au premier abord, faire son tofu maison peut sembler compliqué et long. Pourtant, il n’y a que des bonnes raisons pour se décider à sauter le pas. Avec seulement 300 gr de graines de soja, on peut réaliser 400 gr de tofu, 0,5 l de lait et obtenir près de 1 kg d’okara. L’okara est la pulpe restante après l’extraction du lait de soja. Il est riche en nutriments et peut servir pour toutes sortes de recettes. C’est aussi très économique et on s’en rend compte rapidement. On trouve en boutique bio 500 gr de graines pour environ 4.-. Une fois qu’on a pris le coup de main, faire soi-même son tofu est simple et enthousiasment.

La fabrication du tofu est très semblable à celle du fromage. Pour faire cailler le lait de soja, on utilise du sel de Nigari, du chlorure de magnésium issu de l’eau de mer. Le tofu est riche en protéines, en fer et en calcium. Bonne découverte et délicieuse dégustation !

Recette

Difficulté: Moyenne

Ingrédients

  • 300 gr de soja jaune
  • 2,5 l d’eau + eau de trempage
  • 1 c.s. de sel de Nigari

Matériel

  • 1 moule à tofu
  • 2 étamines
  • 1 grande casserole
  • 1 poids

Instructions

Etape 1

Réhydrater les graines de soja dans un saladier en les couvrant d’eau pendant au moins 12h. Elles vont doubler de volume et reprendre une forme plus allongée.

Etape 2

Rincer les graines et les mixer avec un peu d’eau prélevée des 2,5 l. Il faut obtenir une texture crémeuse. Attention à ne pas mixer trop longtemps sinon l’okara ne pourra pas être bien filtré.

Etape 3

Verser la préparation dans une grande casserole et ajouter le reste d’eau. Faire bouillir durant 15 minutes en mélangeant et en surveillant constamment. Le mélange va beaucoup mousser et il suffit d’une seconde d’inattention pour qu’il déborde. Si besoin, retirer la casserole du feu un instant. Poursuivre ensuite la cuisson à feu doux pendant 20 minutes.

Etape 4

Une fois la préparation refroidie, il faut la filtrer à l’aide d’une étamine ou d’un chinois pour extraire le lait de la pulpe. Vous devriez obtenir environ 1,8 l de lait et 900 gr d’okara. Conserver l’okara pour d’autres recettes.

Etape 5

Remettre 1,2 l de lait à chauffer et retirer du feu avant ébullition. Mélanger une cuillère à soupe de sel de Nigari avec un peu d’eau. Ajouter le mélange sel-eau au lait hors feu et mélanger. Couvrir et laisser cailler durant 20 minutes.

Etape 6

Placer le moule à tofu dans un plat creux (une assiette par exemple) et le couvrir d’une étamine. Verser le tofu caillé dans le moule à l’aide d’une écumoire. Refermer l’étamine et mettre le couvercle. Déposer le poids et laisser égoutter 2h ou plus pour obtenir un tofu bien ferme.

Une fois démoulé, le tofu se conserve au réfrigérateur dans un récipient en verre recouvert d’eau. Changer l’eau tous les jours. Il se conserve 4 jours.

Notes :

  • L’okara peut être congelé pour une utilisation ultérieure
  • Pour obtenir un tofu soyeux, ne pas mettre de poids sur le couvercle.
  • Si vous utilisez un lait du commerce, vous pouvez obtenir environ 300 gr de tofu avec 1 l de lait.
5
5
Panier
Moule à tofu
1+ les clients ont aussi achetés
Moule à tofu
Prix:64.90CHF
- +
64.90CHF
Set couvert vagabond
Set couverts vagabond
Prix:32.90CHF
- +
32.90CHF
Emballage en toile cirée végétale
Emballage en cire végétale
Prix:27.00CHF
- +
27.00CHF
Kit Wicasaya
Kit Wicasaya
Prix:44.90CHF
- +
44.90CHF
kit découverte
1+ les clients ont aussi achetés
Coffret découverte
Prix:44.90CHF
- +
44.90CHF
Calculer les frais de livraison
Calculer les frais d’expédition
Appliquer le coupon